16 Apr


By / bintoromover

What Is The Geneva Agreement

Geneva Conventions, a series of international treaties concluded in Geneva between 1864 and 1949 to mitigate the effects of war on soldiers and civilians. Two additional protocols to the 1949 agreement were approved in 1977. Diplomats from South Korea, North Korea, the People`s Republic of China (PRC), the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) and the United States of America discussed the Korean side of the conference. For Indochina, the agreements were concluded between France, Viet Minh, the USSR, the PRC, the United States, the United Kingdom and the future states of French Indochina. [4] The agreement temporarily separated Vietnam into two zones, a northern area to be ruled by Viet Minh and a southern area to be ruled by the State of Vietnam and then under the leadership of former Emperor Beo II. A final declaration of the conference, issued by the British President of the Conference, called for parliamentary elections to be held for the creation of a single Vietnamese state until July 1956. Although they helped create the agreements, they were not signed directly or accepted by delegates from the state of Vietnam and the United States, and the State of Vietnam refused to allow elections, which led to the Vietnam War the following year. The conference signed three separate ceasefire agreements on Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. While the three conventions (later known as the Geneva Conventions) were dated 20 July (to meet The 30-day Deadline of Mends France), they were actually signed on the morning of 21 July. [5]605[19] Dulles failed with British delegate Anthony Eden over the UK`s alleged inability to support joint action and US positions on Indochina; He left Geneva on 3 May and was replaced by his deputy Walter Bedell Smith. [5]:555-8 The State of Vietnam refused to participate in the negotiations until Bidault wrote to Beo II to assure him that an agreement would not divide Vietnam.

[5]:550-1 In October 1863, delegates from 16 countries travelled to Geneva with military medicine to discuss the terms of a wartime humanitarian agreement. This meeting and its resulting treaty, signed by 12 nations, became the first Geneva Convention. The Geneva Conventions consist of four treaties and three additional protocols, which set the standards of international law for humanitarian treatment during the war. The singular term of the Geneva Convention generally refers to the 1949 conventions, negotiated after the Second World War (1939-1945), which updated the terms of the two 1929 treaties and added two new conventions. The Geneva Conventions fully defined the fundamental rights of prisoners of war (civilians and military), established the protection of the wounded and sick, and established protection for the civilian population in and around a war zone. The 1949 treaties were ratified by a total of 196 countries or with reservations. [1] In addition, the Geneva Convention also defines the rights and protection afforded to non-combatants.



    Saya Ingin Menggunakan Jasa